The Solar Plexus Chakra

Welcome to another Mystical Monday. Today I’ll be going over the solar plexus chakra, which is located smack dab in the middle of the abdomen, from right above the belly button, up to almost the breastbone.

It is associated with the color yellow, and with the element of fire.

A few crystals which are excellent for working with this chakra are citrine, golden quartz, and tiger’s eye.  The solar plexus chakra is associated with the sun. This powerful chakra can be seen as our internal fire. It is largely connected to our ability to tap into our personal power, and radiate it into the world. I recommend picking up at least one of the crystals mentioned above this week, to help get this chakra balanced before we get to the exercise I’ll be sharing at the end of this series. Below are some of the key points of the physical and spiritual/emotional functions of the solar plexus chakra.


The stomach.

The pancreas.

The spleen.

Other digestive organs, and the important roles that overall gut health plays in the rest of the body.



Personal power.


Being able to bring our desires to fruition.

Self image and confidence.

The solar plexus chakra is associated with masculine qualities, and as our internal powerhouse it can be said that it functions to give us our drive, focus, and willpower to move forward on our path and in our relationships. When in balance, this chakra helps us to be assertive and at the same time have the ability to be in harmony with others and our surroundings. The solar plexus chakra is also associated with the autonomic nervous system, and assists our body to have healthier responses to stress.

While covering each chakra, this paragraph will (usually) remain unchanged, with the exception of the color visualization. Please spend time this week visualizing this chakra as a still, yellow wheel in the location described at the beginning of the post, as this will make the exercise at the end of this series a bit easier. If you’ve picked up one or both of the crystals listed above (which I hope you will), holding this crystal while visualizing the chakra will start to do some healing on it before we even get to the final exercise. For all of the individual chakras we will cover in this series, please go gently and get to know them without trying to get them moving until we get to the final exercise. It is always important when working with your energy to go into it slowly and learn a bit before diving in head first.

Feel free to ask questions you may have about this chakra, or any other topics which you may like to see covered here at a later date.

As always, I’m sending lots of love and light your way.

Chakra System

This is the first installment in what will be a weekly series of posts about the chakra system. As you can see in the image above, there are seven main chakras which are the superhighway of our energetic system. There are more than seven, but knowing about these is most important to attaining and maintaining a healthy flow of energy throughout our bodies. The other chakras are definitely interesting and worth exploring in working with advanced spiritual avenues, and there will likely be mention of these at some point in future posts. The focus for this series though, is to focus on achieving individual balance.

The knowledge of the chakra system has ancient roots, with the first written record of it found in India, and dating between 1500 and 500 BC in texts called the Vedas. One of the great things about this knowledge is that it is universal, and does not require a person to be of any particular creed. Then again, isn’t that the beauty of all universal wisdom?

Each chakra has an independent function, with its own role in our optimal state of being, and encompasses the body, mind, and spirit/soul. It is important to keep the chakras cleared and operating smoothly, and to note that they are interconnected as well. This means that when one is out of balance or blocked, that it has an effect on the entire system.

Not only are the chakras to be looked at as a channel, it is important to note that each one works as a wheel which spins in order to have essential energy flowing out into the parts of the body/mind/spirit that each is associated with. When the wheels are turning properly, this enables the energy to flow freely throughout the entire channel of chakras as a whole.

Our energetic body is crucial to our overall balance and function. As this series progresses, I’ll be talking about one chakra per week, and the final piece will contain an exercise which I created for myself many years ago to help attain some balance. It’s a simple exercise which I developed when I was admittedly a total newbie to this type of energy work. It is so effective though, that I continue to use it to this day to perform quick checks and tuneups on myself.

I could skip right to the exercise but I won’t, because it’s important to have a basic understanding of each chakra’s associations in the body. Not to worry, each section will be brief and not overly complicated. After all, the whole point of this series is to give you something simple and easy to help you get things flowing.

See you next week, and as always, I’m sending lots of love your way!